Are Animal Crackers Vegan? The Delightful Answer You Crave!

animal crackers - 1

You know what? Animal crackers are not just for kids. Adults love them, too! The name “animal” might put off a lot of vegans though, and understandably so, at least for me it does now.

However, I was left wondering whether I can still eat them or not.

So, are animal crackers vegan? I found that some animal cracker brands are vegan, while others are not. Keep reading to learn which animal crackers brands are suitable for vegans!

The Common Ingredients

Animal crackers are like a cookie and cracker in one because of its taste and texture. And this is what makes them them so appealing to everyone.

Animal crackers come in many flavors now. Chocolate, cheese, and what have you.

However, in this article, I will talk about the common ones only. Animal “cookies” are also not included since they are in a different category.

In general, these cute crackers contain:

  • Flour
  • Shortening
  • Leavening
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Oil

Sooo… Are animal crackers vegan? From its basic ingredients: Yes, mostly! In many cases, the ones with flavors and frosting are certainly NOT okay for us vegans as they usually contain honey, milk, eggs, butter, cheese, and other animal products

Therefore, avoid these varieties by all means!

Are animal crackers vegan? From its basic ingredients: Yes, mostly! In many cases, the ones with flavors and frosting are certainly NOT okay for us vegans as they usually contain honey, milk, eggs, butter, cheese, and other animal products.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

There are additional ingredients in some popular animal cracker brands today. This is to add more flavor and variety, and sometimes to improve its texture and shelf-life. In any case, watch out for these on the ingredients list:

  • Lecithin (unless it’s from soy)
  • Milk
  • Eggs
  • Refined Sugar (they are often processed using bone char!)
  • Cheese (as a flavor, made from cow’s milk)
  • Whey (can be from both vegan and non-vegan sources)

Non-Vegan Ingredients Edit There are additional ingredients in some popular animal cracker brands today. This is to add more flavor and variety, and sometimes to improve its texture and shelf-life.

animal crackers - 2

Popular Brands Of Animal Crackers

There are a gazillions animal crackers brands on the market nowadays. In this list, I have included the most popular ones, and I tell you whether they are vegan or not. 

I hope you find your favorite brand in my list below! Check it out:

It’s Vegan
  1. Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients.
  2. Cross- contamination from non-vegan ingredients: None
It’s Vegan
  1. Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients.
  2. Cross- contamination from non-vegan ingredients: None
Definitely Not Vegan
  1. Ingredients: Dairy. Not stated what exact dairy ingredients it contains, but is shown on the Kosher status of the product’s information page.

No Available Reliable Information

It’s Vegan
  1. Ingredients: no milk, no eggs. No obvious non-vegan ingredients.
  2. Cross- contamination from non-vegan ingredients: none
Definitely Not Vegan
  1. Ingredients: contains whey

No Available Reliable Information

No Available Reliable Information

It’s Vegan
  1. Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients.
  2. Cross- contamination from non-vegan ingredients: None
It’s Vegan
  1. Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients.
  2. Cross- contamination from non-vegan ingredients: None

Reminder: As I always say, never forget to CHECK THE LABELS! Brands may change their labels and of course their ingredients every now and then. I know it may get tedious sometimes, but that’s the only way to put your mind at ease.

Also, be careful when you see ingredients that say “enriched” or “fortified”. Some of the added nutrients in cases like these may be from animal products. You can only disregard this if it is labeled as vegan or if the brand says so on their website.

Vegan Animal Cracker Brands

So, to sum it up, here’s a quick list of the vegan animal cracker brands that we can enjoy (finally!):

  • Trader Joe’s Organic Animal Crackers
  • Stauffer’s Animal Crackers Original
  • Kirkland Signature Organic Animal Crackers
  • Barnum’s Animal Crackers
  • Barbara’s Snackimals Vanilla (all their products are!)

How About Frosted And Iced Animal Crackers?

Frostings and icings on animal crackers usually contain dairy products or confectioner’s glaze, which is made from insects

Some may be vegan, but be careful when checking the list of ingredients as some non-vegan items are not obvious.

Frostings and icings on animal crackers usually contain dairy products or confectioner’s glaze, which is made from insects. Some may be vegan, but be careful when checking the list of ingredients as some non-vegan items are not obvious.

BONUS: To learn how to make homemade vegan crackers from Cassava flour, check out the video below.

DIY Vegan Animal Crackers

Yes, you can make your own animal crackers, too! Here’s a recipe you can make at home for fresh vegan animal crackers:

Homemade Vegan And Gluten-Free Animal Crackers

(From Dessert With Benefits)

Ingredients:

  • 120g (1 cup) Oat Flour
  • 90g (½ cup) Ground Corn Flakes (should be 3 cups of corn flakes before grinding)
  • ½ cup Granulated Erythritol
  • 1 tsp Double-Acting Baking Powder
  • ¼ tsp Salt
  • ¼ cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk, room temperature
  • ¼ cup Coconut Oil, melted
  • 2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tsp Stevia Extract

Instructions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together the oat flour, ground corn flakes, erythritol, baking powder, and salt.
  3. In a stand mixer bowl with beater attachment, add the coconut oil, almond milk, vanilla extract, and stevia extract.  Mix on low speed until even.
  4. Dump the dry ingredients into the stand mixer and mix until even (it should be slightly crumbly, but if you grab a handful, it should easily compact into a ball).
  5. Roll ⅓ of the dough in between two silicone baking sheets until ¼” thick.  Use animal cookie cutters to punch shapes into the dough, then push them out of the cutters onto the cookie sheets.  Keep re-rolling the dough until all the dough is used up.
  6. Bake for 11 minutes, or until the cookies are golden brown.  Let cool on the pan.  Serve and enjoy!  Keep for 5 days.

Behind The Labels

A lot of animal products today come in names that can easily be hid once they’re on the ingredients list. This is quite frustrating, so my recommendation is that if you don’t have the time to look it up, then just avoid it.

Until you see “vegan-friendly” from the brand’s website itself or have reliable information, it will be best to treat it as non-vegan. Besides, animal crackers vegan brands shouldn’t be too hard to find as they are widely available in grocery stores and online, and they taste great, too!

Until you see “vegan-friendly” from the brand’s website itself or have reliable information, it will be best to treat it as non-vegan.

Conclusion

Are animal crackers vegan? Well some of them are! The list above should make it easier for you next time you want to grab a pack or a jar of animal crackers.

If you want a healthier version, you can use the recipe above and decide how sweet you want them, or how much oil you want to use! 

Because as you may know if you have read some of my other blog posts, oil has lots of calories and I try to avoid cooking with it myself!

Do you have a favorite brand of vegan animal crackers? Are there new ones I have not mentioned that you would like to recommend? 

Let me know on the comment section below. And don’t forget to share this article in your favorite social media platform!

1 thought on “Are Animal Crackers Vegan? The Delightful Answer You Crave!”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.