Are Pretzel Crisps Vegan? The Most Practical Guide In The World!

pretzel-crisps1

Snacking On Pretzel Crisps

Have you ever had Pretzel Crisps before? My grandma and I used to munch on these tasty light crisps with some hummus and salsa, and we just could not get enough!  

My grandma would even cry like a baby when there was no more left. Now since both of us went vegan, we can’t help but wonder if this is something that we can still nibble on during fun snack time.

Well, to address this, I looked into Pretzel Crisps and given that they come in different flavors, there might be some that are vegan-friendly (if you don’t mind cross-contamination), but some are definitely not

So, let’s go find out, shall we?

What Are Pretzel Crisps?

Before we get in deeper in our quest to find out which Pretzel Crisps are fit for vegans, let’s first get to know a little bit more about them.

According to the Pretzel Crisps’ website, it was first introduced to the market in 2004. It’s marketed as a versatile alternative to snacking most especially with its modern take on one of the most beloved snacks – pretzels.

Imagine munching on a crunchy flat like pretzels packed with flavor.  With its light and crispy texture, you can eat it by itself or you can try dipping it in your dip of choice.  

Whatever you decide to do, you will surely enjoy snacking on these and cry tears of joy!

are-pretzel-crisps-vegan

According to the Pretzel Crisps’ website, it was first introduced to the market in 2004. It’s marketed as a versatile alternative to snacking most especially with its modern take on one of the most beloved snacks - pretzels.

OK, So Are Pretzel Crisps Vegan?

First of all, I want to mention that nowhere in the company’s website, do they claim that any of their products are vegan.

But, if you see a pack of Pretzel Crisps, take a moment to check the ingredients.  You will notice that most Pretzel Crisps are usually free of the following:

  • Soy
  • Egg
  • Peanuts
  • Nuts

They are all for sure vegetarian, as none contain any meat.  And as to whether or not it is vegan, it is best to check the Pretzel Crisps variety that you have as ingredients may change! 

But, based on the current ingredients lists found on the Pretzel Crisps website, consider checking the following flavors under their “Deli” line if you don’t mind that these were made in a facility that processes dairy products :

  1. Original Organic: Not Vegan
    1. Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients
    2. Cross- contamination: Milk
  2. Bacon Habanero: Not Vegan
    1. Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients
    2. Cross- contamination: Milk
  3. Original: Not Vegan
    1. Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients
    2. Cross- contamination: Milk
  4. Sesame: Not Vegan
    1. Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients
    2. Cross- contamination: Milk
  5. Everything: Not Vegan
    1. Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients
    2. Cross- contamination: Milk
  6. Sriracha & Lime: Not Vegan
    1. Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients
    2. Cross- contamination: Milk
pretzel-crisps2

There are also non-vegan options under their “Deli” line and these are the ones that you should absolutely avoid, say bye-bye to:

  1. Sea Salt and Cracked Pepper: Definitely Not Vegan
    1. Ingredients: Milk
  2. Buffalo Wing: Definitely Not Vegan
    1. Ingredients: Milk
  3. Garlic Parmesan: Definitely Not Vegan
    1. Ingredients: Cheese, Milk

Since there are variants that are not vegan, be aware of cross-contamination that may happen during the food processing stages.

Also, there are other flavors under the following Pretzel Crisps lines I do not recommend due to their non-vegan friendly content such as yogurt and milk chocolate.

  • Everyday Indulgents
  • Holiday Indulgents

In general, just stay away from any Pretzel Crisp flavor that has the word yogurt or chocolate on it.

The safest one of the bunch I think is the Gluten-Free Original Pretzel Crisp, as the company’s website doesn’t mention anything about containing dairy or being processed in a facility where dairy is processed.

Conclusion

To answer the rather important question of whether Pretzel Crisps are vegan, well the answer lies in what flavor you have!  I’ve done all the heavy work for you, so just find the flavor you are looking for in my list above, and you will know if it contains dairy or not.

If things are still a little bit unclear, you can always talk to a Pretzel Crisps representative so that they can confirm whether it’s vegan or not!  

Take note that Pretzel Crisps are made in a facility that processes both milk and soy. If this is something that does not sit well with you, you know what to do!

Always remember that it’s better to pay your due diligence and read the labels before you try eating something that does not go well with your vegan dietary needs!

Always remember that it’s better to pay your due diligence and read the labels before you try eating something that does not go well with your vegan dietary needs!

1 thought on “Are Pretzel Crisps Vegan? The Most Practical Guide In The World!”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.