Craving Pringles? So tempting isn’t it? But, are pringles vegan? The answer is not black and white, as some Pringles flavors are vegan and some are not.
When it comes to certain snack foods, they sometimes contain additives that have the potential to not be vegan-friendly.
This quick article regarding Pringles will help you understand what to watch out for when it comes to this popular snack.
Main Ingredients in Pringles
It can be a bit difficult to discover the specifics about what is used to create these snacks, but according to various sources (including this Dr. Mercola article which discusses the Pringles creation process), Pringles consist of 42% potato content (in the form of potato flakes) that is combined with various flours (potato, corn, and rice) and heat starch.
Vegetable oils are also used, as well as salt and the various ingredients and spices contained in the different Pringles flavors. There are also various other additives, such as sweeteners and preservatives that are added to enhance the flavor of Pringles and increase their shelf life.
Additionally, while the majority of these ingredients are vegan-friendly, some Pringles varieties contain ingredients that vegans cannot eat.
What To Watch Out For
While the majority of the ingredients used in Pringles are vegan-friendly, there are certain flavors that contain dairy (sometimes in the form of lactose, which is used to help the powdered flavors stick to the chip,and sometimes in the form of dairy-based seasonings), emulsifiers made of egg yolk, and various other ingredients that vegans cannot consume.
In the following sections of the article, I will go over the specifics of certain Pringles varieties and offer you a list of which Pringles are actually vegan-friendly.
Are Salt and Vinegar Pringles Vegan?
Despite what most people assume, the salt and vinegar Pringles flavor is not actually vegan-friendly. This is because the seasoning mix used to flavor the chips contains milk, which is not a viable food item for vegans.
Are Sour Cream and Onion Pringles Vegan?
Due to the milk that is contained in the sour cream and onion Pringles (it is in both the sour cream powder and the flavorings), they are also not a vegan-friendly Pringles option.
Are BBQ Pringles Vegan?
Despite previously being vegan-friendly, the ingredients used in BBQ Pringles recently changed to include dairy.
While the specifics of the dairy content are not included in the ingredients list, these chips do come with an allergen warning for milk (when they did not before), so it is safe to say that they are no longer vegan-friendly (even if the ingredients list would have you believe otherwise).
Which Pringles Are Vegan?
According to this article by the Daily Meal, there are currently about thirty-four different Pringles flavors in the United States alone. With all that variety, it is important to understand which of those flavors are vegan-friendly and which are not.
With that in mind, I have listed here all the Pringles that are currently labeled accurately as vegan (some flavors claim to be vegan when they are not; those flavors have been excluded from the list).
Using resources such as Vegan Food Lover and the Vegan Vox Blog, I have determined that the current vegan-friendly Pringles flavors are as follows:
- Pringles Original
- Pringles Original Reduced Fat
- Pringles Lightly Salted
- Pringles Tortillas Original
- Pringles Tortillas Zesty Salsa
- Pringles Multigrain Original
- Pringles Xtra Tangy Buffalo Wing
- Pringles Paprika
- Pringles Cinnamon
That being said, companies change the ingredients contained in their foods on a frequent basis, so always make sure to carefully read the label on any snack foods your purchase in order to ensure that they truly are vegan-friendly.
I would also like to add that I reached out to the company and asked them if Pringles are vegan. Here is the response I received through an email:
Unfortunately, not even the company itself wants to provide a clear answer on this issue.
Health Concerns Regarding Pringles
Pringles are admittedly a delicious snack food, but whether or not they are vegan-friendly is not the only dietary concern you should be considering when deciding whether or not to buy and consume them.
In addition to the high levels of salt they contain, Pringles also contain a wide variety of additives. Some of these additives have the potential to be incredibly unhealthy for you. Some of these additives, for example, are flavor enhancers that have recently been linked to various health problems.
Some of these problems include (but are not limited to) developmental problems in children and young adults, hormonal imbalances, chest pains and heart palpitations, headaches and nausea, asthma attacks, and more.
Furthermore, the processing that Pringles undergo results in acrylamide. This ingredient is known to cause cancer and also has neurotoxic properties.
And while harmful chemical is not a deliberate ingredient (rather it is a by-product created when the carbohydrate-heavy chips are cooked at high temperatures), there is no denying the serious harm it can potentially cause.
Bonus: We all love to eat chips and while there are tons of brands out there (such as Pringles) to satisfy your cravings, there are also a lot of options that are much healthier.
This oven-baked Vegan Masala Potato Chips recipe provides a nutritious vegan snack. Check out the video below to find out how to make them.
Ultimately, the answer to the question of “are Pringles vegan?” is “sometimes yes, sometimes no.” You will need to read the labels before buying certain Pringles flavors in order to be absolutely certain as to whether or not they are a viable snack food for a vegan lifestyle.
Are you a vegan who enjoys eating Pringles? Which is your favorite flavor? Let me know on the comment section below. And don’t forget to share this article in your favorite social media platform!