Are Refreshers Vegan? The Blast From The Past You Don’t Want To Miss!

refreshers-1

Many of the colorful candies from our childhood are still popular today! I probably don’t even need to remind you of the flavorful refresher candies!

Several brands sell some form of refreshers candy now, but the iconic fizz that we all keep coming back for remains the same.

So now, what you came here for, ‘are refreshers vegan?’ The answer is that some brands are vegan and some are not. To find out which ones are vegan-friendly read on!

are-refreshers-vegan

Refresher Candies Throughout The Years

There are two types of refreshers that a lot of candy lovers know about. One is a chewy candy with a fizzy sherbet center, while the other is a round fizzy tablet.

There are still a lot of people who would refer to both as fizzy candy. However, the tablet form now goes by Fizzers, but is still made by the same brand that makes refreshers.

So, just to be clear, I will concentrate on explaining if the chewy ones with the fizzy center are vegan.

Popular Refresher Candy Brands

Below are the two most popular brands of refresher candies today.

Swizzels Matlow

One of the oldest candy brands, manufacturing refreshers since the 1930s. Joining forces in 1933, the Matlow brothers and Swizzels factory owner David Dee eventually came up with refresher candies. Today, Swizzels is popular for their fruity chews with a fizzy centre.

Joining forces in 1933, the Matlow brothers and Swizzels factory owner David Dee eventually came up with refresher candies.

Barratt / Candyland

This British refresher candy brand was first known commercially as Barratt. The brand was bought by Cadbury in 1989, then by Tangerine Confectionery in 2008.

In 2013, most of the products got a rebrand as Candyland. Then, early this year, the Barratt label made a comeback. However, Tangerine will still retain the Candyland name in some of its products. Confusing, right?

This means refreshers under Candyland and Barratt are both still in the market. The good thing is, Tangerine produces both of them in the same way.

This British refresher candy brand was first known commercially as Barratt. The brand was bought by Cadbury in 1989, then by Tangerine Confectionery in 2008.

refresher-sizzlers

FAQs From Refresher Candy Lovers

Here are the top questions about refreshers being vegan or not:

1.Do Refreshers Have Gelatin?

Yes, some brands do.

2. Are Swizzels Refreshers Vegan?

Yes. Their vegan refresher flavors are:

  • Chews strawberry
  • Chews lemon
  • Chew bar sour apple
  • Choos

See more of their vegan products here.

3. Are Barratts’ Refreshers Vegan?

No. They contain non-vegan ingredients such as cochineal extract from insect shells and beef gelatine.

4. Are Mini Refreshers Vegan?

The popular brands of refresher candies don’t really have “mini” versions, but they do sell their products in smaller packagings. Check your favorite brands below to see if they made it to the list of the vegan ones.

5. Are Refreshers Chews Vegan?

Some flavors are vegan, but some are not. From the Swizzels brand, the lemon, strawberry, and sour apple chews are vegan. However, the lemon and strawberry chew bars are not.

refreshers - 2

6. Are Refreshers Strawberry Vegan?

The strawberry ones from Swizzels are vegan. Others may contain carmine coloring, which is not vegan.

7. Are Refreshers Squashies Vegan?

No. They have gelatine.

8. Are Refreshers Sweets Vegan?

This is only a tag for the refresher candies since there is a beverage by the same name. So again, only some brands are vegan. Check the list below.

9. Are Refreshers Gluten-Free?

Only some are: Swizzels Refreshers in lemon, strawberry, sour apple, and Choos. Be careful though, as NOT ALL gluten-free products are necessarily vegan. Check their list of gluten-free products here.

10. Are Refreshers Healthy?

With the amount of sugar in it? No it is not! For most refresher candy brands, more than half of it is sugar. So, like with all other candies, make sure to only consume it sparingly.

BONUS: To learn more about the different vegan candies you can try out this coming halloween, check out the video below!

What To Look Out For

Now I know it’s impossible to cover everything. I’m sure there are many other brands out there, and perhaps new ones to come. So if you find a brand that does not appear here, watch out for these ingredients:

  • Gelatine (from beef or pork)
  • Cochineal extract or carmine (from insects)

Vegan Refresher Candy Brands

  • Swizzels

Unfortunately that’s the only vegan refresher candy brand in the market today.

The good news is, Swizzels have a handful of vegan-friendly flavors:

  • Chews strawberry
  • Chews lemon
  • Chew bar sour apple
  • Choos

Note: Lemon and strawberry in chew BARS are NOT VEGAN. They have gelatine in them. This may confuse anyone easily since both flavors come in “chew” and “chew bar” varieties.

Lemon and strawberry Swizzels in chew BARS are NOT VEGAN. They have gelatine in them. This may confuse anyone easily since both flavors come in “chew” and “chew bar” varieties.

Conclusion

Not all refresher candy brands are vegan. Some have gelatin and food coloring (carmine) from cochineal bugs.

However, the Swizzels brand has a good-enough range of vegan refreshers. That’s already a treat! See above for the list of their vegan products.

What’s your favorite vegan-friendly refreshers? Let me know on the comment section below. And don’t forget to share this article in your favorite social media platform.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.