You’d probably think that vegans get lots of Vitamin C since its commonly found in fruit. Well, yes, but it also largely depends on the food choices you are making.
It is easy to get a sufficient amount of vitamin C from foods and vegetables alone. However, if, for some reason it’s not possible for you, then you can turn to supplements.
But like all careful vegans do, you might ask first, is ascorbic acid vegan? Well, I have to look at all its sources, including supplements and checked to see if any non-vegan ingredients have been sneaked in.
While there might be some rare exceptions, the answer is Yes! Ascorbic acid is vegan!
Functions Of Vitamin C In The Human Body
Before we jump deeper into the topic of veganism and ascorbic acid, let’s first have a quick overview of all the role vitamin C play in our body. It’s so much more than what we already know of the most popular vitamin. Here they are in a summary:
- For tissue growth and repair (wound healing, anti-aging)
- Facilitates absorption of iron (blood formation) and collagen (skin elasticity)
- A powerful antioxidant (fights free radicals)
- Immune system builder and booster (reduces risks of chronic illnesses)
- Relaxes the blood vessels (may help prevent and control high blood pressure)
- Helps reduce bad cholesterol (protects against heart disease)
- Aids in the reduction of uric acid levels (can prevent gout)
- Promotes brain health (can protect memory and thinking)
With all that, I’m sure you’d want to have more vitamin C now, don’t you? But first…
How Much Vitamin C Do We Need?
However, most people cannot do this as they find it impractical. 9 servings can be a lot, after all.
Vitamin C supplements are commonly sold in 250 or 500 mg single dosage for adults. This is fine since Vitamin C is water soluble, which means your body will just get rid of all the excess amounts through your pee.
There’s still a toxicity level though, which is 2,000 mg a day, so don’t overuse it. Our kidneys can only handle so much.
BONUS: To learn which vegan friendly foods are rich in Vitamin C, check out the video below!
Sources Of Ascorbic Acid
Did you know ascorbic acid has 2 forms? There’s L-Ascorbic Acid and D-Ascorbic Acid. However, because of their difference in bioavailability, supplements can only use L-Ascorbic Acid.
In terms of sources, ascorbic acid can be made from natural and synthetic sources. No need to choose though, as both are similar in chemical structure and bioavailability.
1. Natural Sources of Ascorbic Acid
- Corn sugar
- Rice starch
2. Synthetic Sources of Ascorbic Acid
- Glucose and sorbitol fermentation into acid
The common sources for ascorbic acid production are quite few if you notice. The best news is they are all vegan! Now you can go and get your ascorbic acid supplements without worry. Just be careful with your doses!
If you are interested in a more comprehensive blog post about Vitamin C and vitamins that vegans need in general, I highly recommend my blog post “The Ultimate Guide To Supplements For Vegans! Your Search Stops Here!”
Taking vitamin C supplements may be necessary if you think you’re not getting it enough from what you eat every day. Lucky for us vegans, its most common supplemental form, ascorbic acid, is completely vegan.
However, even if you take Vitamin C supplements, don’t forget to always include vegan sources in your diet.
How about you? How do you get your daily dose of Vitamin C as a vegan? Let me know on the comment section below. And don’t forget to share this article in your favorite social media platform.