Is Captain Crunch Vegan? Unlock The (Answer) Now! Yo Ho Ho!

Cap'n Crunch - 1

Cereals are crunchy and toothsome! They make for a quick go-to breakfast for mornings you are in a rush. They are also easy to snack on when feeling peckish and just want something light.

Although I don’t eat Captain Crunch cereal anymore, as I prefer healthier alternatives, I used to as a kid. However, I know that many vegans out there would still like to have Captain Crunch cereal for breakfast.

But, is Captain Crunch vegan? Most likely NOT! Read on to find out why.

is-captain-crunch-vegan

What Does Cap’n Crunch Say?

For starters, Cap’n Crunch doesn’t come with a “vegan” label. However, this does not mean that it cannot be vegan, as we all know.

If you go to their website, the most you will find is the ingredients and nutrition facts of each flavor. There is no further information that will clearly tell you whether the cereal is vegan or not. So what can we rely on instead?

Cap’n Crunch comes in 8 flavors:

  • Original
  • Crunch Berries
  • Crunch Berries XL
  • Peanut Butter Crunch
  • Peanut Butter Crunch XL
  • Oops! All Berries
  • Sprinkled Donut Crunch
  • Halloween Crunch

For most of these flavors, you won’t see obvious red flags like dairy and meat products. The Sprinkled Donut Crunch, however, has confectioner’s glaze in it.

If you have read lots of my previous articles already, this will raise a red flag. Confectioner’s glaze or shellac, is from the excretion of beetles, and is what makes candies shiny

This is of course an animal (or insect, to be exact) product and is definitely not for vegans.

Furthermore, I also contacted the company and asked them if Captain Crunch cereal is vegan.

They answered me that because they buy the ingredients from third party vendors, they cannot know for sure where the ingredients are coming from, and therefore they cannot know if the cereal is vegan or not. See below:

Captain Crunch Representative

If you go to their website, the most you will find is the ingredients and nutrition facts of each flavor. There is no further information that will clearly tell you whether the cereal is vegan or not.

BONUS: To learn how to make a healthy homemade vegan cereal, check out the video below.

Labels In Cereals

FYI, here are the ingredients listed in the Captain Crunch cereal label: Corn Flour, Sugar, Oat Flour, Brown Sugar, Palm and/or Coconut Oil, Salt, Reduced Iron, Yellow 5, Niacinamide, Zinc Oxide, Yellow 6, Thiamin Mononitrate, BHT, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin, Folic Acid.

But, for us vegans, checking the list of ingredients doesn’t always give us the answers we need. When I see sugar (which is like on EVERYTHING honestly!), it frustrates me when it doesn’t say if it’s refined or what.

And, if you follow me, you would know that sugar undergoes a refining process that often involves the use of bone char.

Plus, don’t get me started on the environmental issues that palm oil causes.

Furthermore, I think is worth mentioning that the Cap’n Crunch cereal boxes come with either a “U” or “D” label.

So how can these letters help? Here’s what they mean:

  1. U (Kosher) – the letter may appear in a circle, triangle, or star. Kosher relates to Jewish dietary laws, but this label does not necessarily mean that a product is vegan. So we can’t rely on this.
  2. D (Dairy) – this label appears in a circle, and it’s a warning that a certain product contains dairy! If you don’t see it in the packaging, then it means it has traces of or has been in contact with dairy. This is something to look for in all cereal packages.

The Cap’n Crunch Peanut Butter Crunch is the only one without the “Dairy” label in it. So if any of the Captain Crunch cereals are vegan, it would be this one.

But, if you mind the animal rights and environmental issues of sugar and palm oil, then even this flavor cannot be considered vegan.

All I have to say for now is that hopefully more of the Captain Crunch cereal flavors will lose the “D” label from its packaging.

FYI, here are the ingredients listed in the Captain Crunch cereal label: Corn Flour, Sugar, Oat Flour, Brown Sugar, Palm and/or Coconut Oil, Salt, Reduced Iron, Yellow 5, Niacinamide, Zinc Oxide, Yellow 6, Thiamin Mononitrate, BHT, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin, Folic Acid.

Conclusion

So, to recap, Is Captain Crunch vegan? Only the Peanut Butter Crunch flavor might be (depending on if you are a vegan that avoids sugar and palm oil or not – for the reasons mentioned above).

If you don’t mind the sugar and palm oil, then enjoy your Peanut Butter Crunch cereal with your favorite almond milk. Yum!

For health reasons I personally try to avoid anything with refined sugar or oil anyways, as it is not good for my waistline. So please take this into consideration.

There are lots of healthier cereal alternatives out there which have the “Vegan” label on them, and which are equally as delicious as Captain Crunch cereals.

How hard would it be for you to give up Cap’n Crunch cereals? Let me know on the comment section below. And don’t forget to share this article in your favorite social media platform!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.