Is Ginger Ale Vegan? The [Quick] Answer You Are Looking For Is Here!

ginger ale - 1

I sometimes gulp down an ice cold ginger soda to quench my thirst and pour it on my face to keep cool, especially when the weather is boiling hot. Kidding! Haha

But yes, vegans can of course indulge in some good soda once in a while! Do you find yourself craving and reaching for a cold can of ginger ale sometimes?

The truth is that most mainstream soda brands are not vegan. But is ginger ale vegan? Some brands are, yes!  

What Is Ginger Ale Made Of?

Aside from the obvious ginger root (although some don’t even have ginger in it, ironically!), commercial brands mostly have:

  • Natural Flavors
  • Carbonated water
  • Lime
  • Sugar (possibly not vegan)

However, you should WATCH OUT for these ingredients:

  • Honey
  • Gelatine (from fish)

Most commercial ginger ale brands have natural flavors, carbonated water, lime, and sugar (possibly not vegan). However, you should watch out for ingredients such as honey and gelatine (from fish)

Is Ginger Ale Good For You?

Ginger is popularly known as a herbal plant. It is a proven remedy for many ailments.

However, since commercial ginger ale is basically the good stuff combined with soda, unfortunately, there’s the good and the bad to consider.

  • Pros: depending on the amount of ginger that is actually in the drink, ginger ale can…
  • Relieve colds and flu
  • Alleviate abdominal pain
  • Help resolve digestive system issues
  • Cons: like all other sodas, commercial ginger ale is…
  • High in sugar
  • Contains lots of caffeine
  • Has too much sodium
  • Acidic

There are of course some sugar-free and caffeine-free varieties of ginger ale, just like the popular Coke and Pepsi brands. However, it is still best to have it in moderation.

And with sugar and sodium oftentimes waaaay higher than the ginger content, you are more likely to get high on these first before you ever get the real benefits of ginger. It is still soda, after all.

Even without the sugar, the acid content may still damage your stomach lining once you have had too much.

Ginger is popularly known as a herbal plant. It is a proven remedy for many ailments.

BONUS: To learn how to make your very own vegan ginger ale, check out the video below!

Vegan Ginger Ale Brands

Now let’s talk about the ones we vegans can drink. Hooray! These are the brands of ginger ale you should look for

Homemade Vegan Ginger Ale Recipe

(From The Veg Life)

Nothing better than being able to make your own concoction at home, right? Give this one a try!


  • 1/4 cup Fresh Ginger peeled and chopped
  • 1 cup Sugar (unrefined)
  • 2 cup Filtered Water
  • Pinch of salt (adjust to taste)
  • Sparkling/Carbonated Water and Ice for serving
  • Fresh mint leaves and lemon/lime wedges (for garnishing)


  1. On high heat, add the sugar and water to a non-reactive saucepan. We are essentially making a “simple syrup”.
  2. Once the sugar dissolves completely, add the ginger and salt.
  3. Bring to a boil and then lower the temperature so that it is actively simmering, not boiling.
  4. Simmer for approximately 45 minutes and cool to room temperature prior to refrigerating.
  5. To make the ginger ale soda, simply add 1 part syrup to 2 parts sparkling water.
  6. To get that traditional lemon/lime flavor, you could add a squeeze of either (or both).
  7. Serve over ice and garnish with a sprig of fresh mint and some lemon wedges.


Is ginger ale vegan? Many brands are! Now all you have to do is pick one from my list above.

However, If you see any other brand while shopping, always watch out for honey and gelatine as these are both from animal products.

Most importantly, drink it in moderation only! I personally don’t drink soda as is not good for our health. Whenever I crave soda, I mix sparkling water with a little bit of 100% juice for more flavor.

Do you know any other vegan brands of ginger ale? Or have you ever tried making your own? 

Let me know on the comment section below. And don’t forget to share this article in your favorite social media platform!

1 thought on “Is Ginger Ale Vegan? The [Quick] Answer You Are Looking For Is Here!”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.