Is Orange Juice Vegan? Stay Away From The Following Juices…!!!

Not to be paranoid or cynical, but do you know what the trouble is when it comes to fruit juices? They’re NOT always vegan! 

Are you thinking fruit juices should be vegan because they’re made of fruits after all? Well, don’t fall for the name too easily! 

This time, let’s talk about the most popular fruit juice. Is orange juice vegan? If it’s not yet obvious by now, the answer is: NOT all orange juices are vegan. But what makes it so?

Here’s a comprehensive guide with answers for all you orange juice loving vegans:

Additives: When Is Orange Juice NOT Vegan?

Commercial orange juice brands will often contain more ingredients. Aside from preservatives, they may also contain flavor enhancers, food colors, and additional vitamins.  

Here are all the potentially non-vegan additives in commercial orange juice brands that you should watch out for:

Is-orange-juice-vegan-3

1. Refined Sugar

More and more manufacturers these days are giving up the use of bone char to filter and refine sugars. However, it doesn’t mean that this practice no longer exists. The best way around this is to avoid refined sugars that are not guaranteed vegan. For more about vegan and non-vegan sugars, check here.  

2. Calcium 

Oranges naturally contain calcium already. However, since this is not high enough, a lot of manufacturers believe adding more will be better. The problem is calcium additives used in food for vitamin fortification often come from dairy products or sea shells

3. Vitamin D3 

Commonly made from sheep wool or lanolin, Vitamin D3 is usually not vegan. Lichens from fungi and algae are a popular source of vegan-friendly vitamin D3 but it is nowhere near as popular as lanolin. This only means that most vitamin D3 additives come from sheep wool and are not vegan.

4. Omega 3

Fish oil is the number one source of Omega 3 fatty acids. Although vegan-friendly algae and seaweeds can be a source too, this is something you should be wary about too. 

Unless you can be sure the Omega 3 additive is from a vegan source, it’s best to avoid orange juice brands with this additive.

5. Natural red flavors

Orange juice with red fruit blends like strawberry usually also contains red dye that may come from cochineal insects. Labels that use the term “natural colors” may hide this non-vegan detail. So for anything red and has natural colors and no vegan label, I just avoid them. And so should you.

6. Artificial food colors 

Artificial food dyes do not contain animal products but they are commonly tested on animals. Do not forget that for something to be truly vegan-friendly, it has to be cruelty-free as well! 

When these ingredient names do not provide enough detail, I suggest you avoid them. But of course, if it carries a vegan label, then that’s your green light, GO!

Commercial orange juice brands will often contain more ingredients. Aside from preservatives, they may also contain flavor enhancers, food colors, and additional vitamins.  

So… Is Orange Juice Vegan?

If you’re looking at an orange juice that’s pure without any additives at all, then YES that is vegan! 

If it contains suspicious additives, the only time it will be vegan is if the label says so. Now, if you have a favorite brand that looks suspicious, contact the manufacturer and who knows,   

In short, an orange juice is vegan if:

✅ It is pure and contains only 1 ingredient: orange

✅ Has a vegan label

✅ Only contains ingredient names that are straightforward vegan 

✅ The manufacturer verifies that it does not contain animal products 

If you’re looking at an orange juice that’s pure without any additives at all, then YES that is vegan! If it contains suspicious additives, the only time it will be vegan is if the label says so.

is-orange-juice-vegan-2

The Best Vegan Orange Juice Brands

Nothing is better than pure orange juice! But… is squeezing out your own orange juice to make sure it’s vegan is too much work for you? Here are some of the best vegan-friendly store-bought orange juice brands:

This list is not exhaustive. Brands on this list may have other vegan varieties especially if they do not have potentially non-vegan ingredients. So feel free to explore more brands and varieties now that you know how to figure them out!

Conclusion

The best way to guarantee if orange juice is vegan is if it’s 100% pure. Yes, that’s redundant for emphasis! You can only get away with additives if the label itself says it’s vegan. Otherwise, stick to our short rule above to make sure you only chug down vegan orange juice! 

Do you love orange juice too? Which brands do you love and trust as a vegan? Let me know in the comment section below. And don’t forget to share this article on your favorite social media platform.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.