People Are So Confused! Is Peanut Butter Vegan? (The Truth Uncovered)


Who doesn’t love peanut butter? Vegans do! But, is peanut butter vegan? keep reading to find out before you start making those peanut butter/jelly sandwiches.

When you are leading a vegan lifestyle, it can sometimes be difficult to determine which foods are viable options and which need to be avoided.

 One item that causes some confusion is peanut butter; while it may seem like a straightforward and vegan-friendly food item, in some cases it is not (due to additives such as honey).

With that in mind, I have put together this quick article to better answer the common question of “is peanut butter vegan?” 

I hope you find the information helpful for understanding why some peanut butter are vegan-friendly while others are not (and should be avoided).

What Ingredients Are In Peanut Butter?

According to Peanut Butter Lovers, you can always rest assured that all peanut butters will consist almost entirely of peanuts; this is because the Food and Drug Administration requires that 90% of peanut butters be made of peanuts, with a maximum of 10% made up of other ingredients; furthermore, chemical preservatives (as well as artificial sweeteners, artificial flavors, and additives) are not allowed in peanut butter.

That being said, some brands of peanut butter contain honey as a sweetener, and if you are leading a true vegan lifestyle then you will need to find some alternative peanut butter to eat (since honey is not a vegan-friendly food, on account of it being produced through the exploitation of bees).


According to PETA the majority of peanut butters are completely vegan friendly. Most will consist simply of peanuts and occasionally vegetable oils to help keep the peanut butter smooth.


What Should You Watch Out For In Peanut Butter?

As mentioned previously, almost all peanut butters are vegan-friendly. However, some do contain honey (which is not vegan-friendly).

If you see a peanut butter that is fortified, you should probably avoid it.

You should also be careful of anything that is fortified with Omega-3s; according to this article from Planteous Veg that discusses several foods that are surprisingly non-vegan (such as sugar and certain juice drinks), most Omega 3s that are used to fortify foods come from sardines and other fish, making them non-vegan-friendly. 

Is Skippy's Peanut Butter Vegan?

Skippy is a popular brand of peanut butter for many people of all walks of life, but it is important for someone leading a vegan lifestyle to understand which of their products are vegan-friendly and which ones are not.

For example, Skippy’s Natural Creamy Peanut Butter is vegan-friendly, but according to Happy Happy Vegan, their Peanut Butter Spread with Honey is not (due to, of course, the presence of honey). 

Ultimately, you will need to take the time to read the ingredient list on the label in order to be absolutely certain as to whether or not a given peanut butter flavor produced by Skippy’s is vegan-friendly or not.

Is Jif Peanut Butter Vegan?

According to Veggate, some peanut butters produced by Jif are vegan-friendly, while others are not. 

Their Natural Honey Peanut Butter Spread is not vegan-friendly (due to the honey it contains), while their Omega-3 Fortified Peanut Butter is also not a vegan-friendly option (due to the fact that the Omega 3s they use come from fish oils, specifically sardines and anchovies, as well as gelatin).

What Peanut Butters Are Vegan?

While plenty of the more common brand names do produce vegan-friendly options, there are also plenty of companies that cater specifically to those of us who lead vegan lifestyles. This article from Ubran Vegan is a helpful resource when it comes to vegan-friendly peanut butter options. 

Some of their recommendations include MaraNatha Organic Peanut Butter, Once Again Organic Smooth Peanut Butter, Justin’s Classic Peanut Butter, and Crazy Richard’s Natural Chunky Peanut Butter.

Some other vegan-friendly peanut butters that many people enjoy are brands like Earth Balance, a company that is mostly known for their butter substitutes but also offers various other food lines as well (including vegan-friendly peanut butters). 

The Peter Pan brand also offers a lot of variety when it comes to high quality vegan peanut butters; just make sure to check the type of peanut butter you are buying first, because they do produce some peanut butters that contain honey as well (luckily, these honey spreads will always be clearly marked so you should be able to easily avoid them).


How To Make Homemade Peanut Butter?

The best way to make sure that your peanut butter is truly vegan-friendly is, of course, to make it yourself.

And while this might seem like an inordinate amount of work (especially when you can go out and buy premade peanut butter at virtually any grocery store), it is definitely worth it if you want to be absolutely sure that your peanut butter is not just vegan-friendly but also free from any sort of preservatives that you might want to avoid.

Luckily, making your own peanut butter at home is both quick and easy! All you need is a good food processor and some peanuts (as well as some peanut oil if you want to help make the peanut butter smooth and creamy; sugar can be added as well, but make sure to use a vegan-friendly sugar).

This article from Loving It Vegan offers a very simple and easy to follow recipe for creating your own vegan-friendly peanut butter at home; essentially, all you really need to do is take some roasted peanuts and put them into your food processor. 

You will need to stop your processor once or twice in order to scrape down the peanut butter that sticks to the sides of the processor but ultimately making your own peanut butter should be very simple.


Ways Vegans Can Enjoy Peanut Butter

So now that we have our answer to “is peanut butter vegan?”, let’s talk about the ways we can enjoy it.

Peanut butter is a very versatile food item that can be consumed in a variety of ways.

Not only does it make a good filling for sandwiches, it can also be used as a spread of toast and even used on fruit (bananas and peanut butter are a particularly popular combination). Some people also mix peanut butter into their oatmeal or cereal.

Ultimately, when it comes to ways vegans can enjoy peanut butter, you are only really limited by your ingenuity and willingness to experiment with new recipe ideas.

[Studies] illustrate that consumption of peanuts and/or peanut butter is associated with lower weight status, improved diet, and lipid levels

- Baylor College of Medicine

The Peanut Butter I Use

I always buy organic peanut powder and mix it with water to make my own peanut butter, which has less calories compared to regular peanut butters and best of all, it contains no oil at all.

Here’s the peanut powder I use:

Sprouts’ Organic Peanut Powder

Ingredients: organic defatted peanut flour, organic cane sugar, sea salt

Contains: peanuts

Product description:

  • Made in usa with 100% usa peanuts
  • 90% less fat
  • 70 % fewer calories than traditional peanut butter
  • Gluten-free, vegan, low sodium
  • Use for protein shakes, snacking, baking

Directions: mix 1 tbsp of water to 2 tbsp of peanut powder and stir. Add more powder to thicken

Bonus: If you want a great step-by-step instructions on How To Make A Homemade Zero Waste-Vegan Peanut Butter Recipe, check out this video below.


I hope that this article has been helpful for explaining the answer to the question “is peanut butter vegan?”. 

Remember that while there are a few kinds of peanut butter that are not vegan-friendly, the majority of them are and that these vegan-friendly peanut butter can be enjoyed in a variety of different ways.

What is your favorite brand of peanut butter? Have you ever tried powdered peanut? Let me know in the comment section below. And don’t forget to share this article in your favorite social media platform!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.