Is Vimto Vegan? The Eye-Opening Answer To Your Question!

Vimto - 1

If you are from the United Kingdom or if you have been to that side of the Atlantic, chances are you might have come across Vimto in the shops.

Vimto is a carbonated drink that is made from the juices of raspberriesblackcurrants, and grapes and it is also flavored with some herbs and spices.

Vimto are not just beverages though, the company also has other products like confectionery.

With the product range that it has, is Vimto vegan-friendly?  Well, Not all of the products made by the company are; however, If we are focusing on the beverages, then it’s a resounding ”yes”.

To give us some clarity, I have looked into the products that are vegan, and also at the ones that we shouldn’t bother checking out.

Blast From The Past

Vimto was first made in 1908 by a man named Noel Nichols. According to the Vimto website, it was originally an herbal tonic called Vimtonic.  

It was registered and trademarked under the medicine class as Vimto.   It wasn’t until 1913 when it was registered as a beverage fit for human consumption.

By the 1920s, Vimto expanded and reached the shores of India, Burma, Ceylon, and the Middle East. Since then, Vimto has been sold in numerous countries around the world.  It is currently being sold in over 60 countries.

Vimto was first made in 1908 by a man named Noel Nichols. According to the Vimto website, it was originally an herbal tonic called Vimtonic.

BONUS: To learn how to make a healthy vegan soda recipe, check out the video below.

Is this Vimto Vegan?

As I have mentioned, Vimto now is not only limited to drinks. So it that case, let’s find out which of the various products are the ones that we vegans can enjoy without breaking our commitment to our lifestyle of choice.

If you take a peek at the Vimto website, you will see a variety of non-beverage products. You can start with their traditional sweets. They have original, strawberry and cherry lollies and cubes.  

They also have chewy sweet treats like jelly beans and bonbons. They even offer frozen ice lollies and ice pops. Moreover, they have novelty sweets that are not common treats. Lastly, they have a dessert line that includes jelly and jelly pouch.

As for their beverage line, there are four types of Vimto drinks:

  • Squash
  • Fizzy
  • Still (ready-to-drink)
  • Water Enhancers

When it comes to the drinks, the company says that their beverage products do not contain any animal products and that they are VEGAN! Good news!

In addition, according to the FAQs found in Vimto’s site, the following products are also suitable for vegans:

  • Vimto Scoox Fizzy Sticks
  • Vimto Lollipops
  • Vimto Snagx Fizzy Belts

According to the FAQs found in Vimto’s site, the following products are also suitable for vegans: Vimto Scoox Fizzy Sticks, Vimto Lollipops, and Vimto Snagx Fizzy Belts

Conclusion

From its medicinal tonic beginning to its current status, Vimto has certainly come a long way! As vegans, it’s good to know that their sodas are something that we can drink!

And as for the other products, some are vegetarian and some are vegan. If you missed it, see above for the list of Vimto’s vegan products.

To make sure that you don’t consume something that is not up to your vegan standards, you can reach out to them here.

If you have tried drinking Vimto, what’s your favorite kind? Let us know down below!  If you know someone who would love to know more about Vimto, please share this on your favorite social network platform.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.