Are Takis Vegan? You Need To Stay Away From The Following Flavors…

takis

Craving some Takis? When I went vegan what was definitely hardest for me to give up where some of my favorite chips brands.

In this article I want to be focusing on answering one question: are Takis vegan friendly? And I know that this is not what you want to hear, but the answer is that Takis are NOT vegan.

While some flavors don’t contain any animal products, they have been produced in a factory that handles milk or eggs. So if you do mind the cross-contamination, then you shouldn’t be eating them. 

And if you don’t , then be my guest.

are-takis-vegan

Keep reading as I provide you with a list of the flavors which have animal products in the ingredients, and a list of the flavors which have only been cross-contaminated.

Main Ingredients In Takis Chips

Takis today are a widely known and quite popular chip brand. Made out of corn tortilla, this chip is similar to Doritos.

Much like many chip brands out there, takis has a wide range of flavours for people to choose from. To figure out if takis are vegan really comes down to the ingredients that are used to make them.

When we take the time to look at the main ingredients, the answer to the question of whether Takis are vegan or not starts to become clear.

For example, if you look at Fuego, Nitro, as well as Salsa Brava, the ingredient list doesn’t contain any animal products. However, they have been produced in a factory that handles milk and/or eggs.

At the base level, the Takis chips are made like any other ordinary chip, barring how the chip looks at the end. What’s in it is the corn masa flour as well as all the other oils and ingredients that are used to cook the chip and we get a crunchy snack.

However, some Takis flavors that do contain animal products are the Angry Burger flavour and the Guacamole flavour. Another traditional flavour Takis chips have is the Xplosion which has a cheese flavour mixed with chili pepper.

Even the flavours that you might think don’t have any animal products, they probably do as well. Animal products may even be found in flavours like salt and vinegar, and onion. 

I’m saying this in case Takis releases new types of flavours and you may be excited to try them out. Don’t get your hopes up too quickly.

To summarize, after I looked at the Takis chips thus far the only shift in ingredients are based on the flavour of the chip. But as I warned above, don’t always base your judgement on the flavour alone, especially when new flavours are being introduced.

In fact, you should never assume that any of the Takis chips flavors are vegan. No where in the company’s website do they claim that their products are vegan. I’m sure that if any of their flavors were vegan, they would proudly label them as so.

Even the flavours that you might think don’t have any animal products, they probably do as well. Animal products may even be found in flavours like salt and vinegar, and onion.

What To Watch Out Specifically That Is Not Vegan?

When it comes to looking at figuring out whether Takis are vegan, you need to pay attention to the labels. As I explained above the main ingredients at the core isn’t the main issue, but rather the the ingredients that give it the flavour.

Even the most painfully obvious flavours that don’t seem like they have dairy or animal products may actually have some.

Going back to dairy, the reason it’s in there can be for one or both of these reasons:

  1. The milk is necessary in creating that flavour. Think sour cream and onion, ranch, or cheese, which traditionally you use milk to make those.

     

  2. Lactose is used for the more acidic chips that are being presented. The dairy products serve as a buffer which will lower the acidity of the chip. You’ll find lactose (milk sugar) to be found in highly acidic chips or chips that may cause a sting for other people.

Aside from dairy products there will be other products that will try to imitate meat or beef flavours. Those particular ingredients will be obvious as the flavour of the chip would be advertised as hamburger or bacon flavoured.

One other thing that you may be concerned about as well is the potential of cross contamination. This of course is when specific products come into contact with other products. 

This in turn will pass ingredients over to another. Because there is that potential there, companies have provided a failsafe by mentioning in the ingredients list “may contain milk” on products that would otherwise be considered vegan.

The reason this happens is to protect the company from lawsuits as people are allergic to milk or other ingredients. That being said, it doesn’t mean that the final product contains milk in it. 

It’s common practice in factories today to clean equipment thoroughly after every batch. This makes cross contamination incredibly unlikely, but if you are a strict vegan, you will clear away from Taki chips.

Aside from dairy products there will be other products that will try to imitate meat or beef flavours. Those particular ingredients will be obvious as the flavour of the chip would be advertised as hamburger or bacon flavoured.

BONUS: To learn how to make fruit and veggie chips check out the video below.

Takis Are Not Vegan

Since the launch of the company, Takis has released five main flavours thus far. All the information for these 5 flavors is the company’s website. Here is what I found:

  1. Takis Fuego: Not Vegan
    1. Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients
    2. Cross- contamination: Milk & Eggs
  2. Takis Nitro: Not Vegan
    1. Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients
    2. Cross- contamination: Milk & Eggs
  3. Takis Crunchy Fajitas: Definitely Not Vegan
    1. Ingredients: Milk & Eggs
    2. Cross- contamination: No obvious non-vegan foods
  4. Takis Guacamole:  Definitely Not Vegan
    1. Ingredients: Milk
    2. Cross- contamination: Eggs
  5. Takis Xplosion: Definitely Not Vegan
    1. Ingredients: Milk
    2. Cross- contamination: Eggs

Other flavor that have only been cross-contaminated: Salsa Brava, Titan

Other flavor that do have animal products: Angry Burger, Lava, Wild

And here is a little further explanation into some of the flavors so that you can get a better sense of the ingredients they contain and why they are not vegan:

Crunchy Fajita – intense spice and fajita flavour (contains milk to lower spiciness)

Guacamole – spicy guacamole (has milk labelled as Sodium Caseinate which is used to lower spiciness)

Xplosion – chili pepper and cheese (milk is used to make cheese)

Angry Burger – spicy hamburger and dill (hamburger has beef)

Lava – cheese and chipotle (cheese again)

Wild – spicy buffalo (even if the buffalo is artificial, it’s still spicy and contains traces of dairy to reduce spiciness)

How Bad Are Takis Chips For You?

Chip can still be highly addictive due to the high amounts of salts and fats. Not to mention they are packed with calories.

When looking Takis chips, here is what you can expect in the nutritional information:

Serving Size: per 12 chips (150 calories)

% Daily Value

Total Fat: 8g 12%

Saturated Fat: 4g 20%

Trans Fat: 0g

Cholesterol: 0mg 0%

Sodium: 420mg 18%

Potassium: 0mg 0%

Total Carbohydrate: 16g 5%

Dietary Fiber: 2g 8%

Sugars: 0g

Protein: 2g 4%

Vitamin A: 0% – Vitamin C: 0%

Calcium: 2% – Iron: 4%

Do keep in mind that these daily value percentages are based off of a 2,000 calorie diet. Your own daily values may be slightly different.

But wholly guacamole! That’s a lot fat and sodium!  That’s no surprise as oil is second on the list of ingredients.

At the end of the day, takis chips are not the healthiest things out there. Vegan or not, you probably shouldn’t be eating them anyways. There are much healthier options out there!

At the end of the day, takis chips are not the healthiest things out there. Vegan or not, you probably shouldn’t be eating them anyways. There are much healthier options out there!

Takis Chips Alternatives That Are Vegan

PETA did a list two years ago on chips that are vegan you never expected. From among that list you’ll find that for example Fritos Original Corn Chips, Ruffles All Dressed, Chile & Lime Flavoured Sabritones Puffed Wheat Snacks, are vegan. 

Keep in mind that I cannot back-up the claims in that article as I did not write it. However, I did do my own research. Click here for my list of Vegan chips that I know for sure are vegan!

PETA did a list two years ago on chips that are vegan you never expected. From among that list you’ll find that for example Fritos Original Corn Chips, Ruffles All Dressed, Chile & Lime Flavoured Sabritones Puffed Wheat Snacks, are vegan.

Recipe For Homemade Chips Similar To Takis

There are Takis vegan chip recipes also scattered throughout the internet as well. If you are feeling in the mood to make some Takis chips easily Tess Cooks 4 U created an easy recipe that you can follow to make Takis Fuego. 

You will need to exclude the powder cheddar cheese from the list of ingredients to make the chips vegan.

Conclusion

Sadly, Takis chips are not vegan and we need to exclude them from out diet. However, if you don’t mind that some flavors are just cross-contaminated and don’t actually have animal products in the list of ingredients, then see above for what flavors you may consume.

Always pay attention to the labels, especially when new flavours come out, as who knows, maybe Takis might have a fully vegan option one day!

Is it an issue for you if chips are cross-contaminated with animal products? Do you have a favorite homemade chips recipe? Let me know on the comment section below. And don’t forget to share this article in your favorite social media platform!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.