Cracking The Code: Everything To Know About Vegan Crackers!

crackers-1

Let’s admit it – from time to time, regardless of what time of day it is, we find ourselves looking for something to munch on. And one of the go-to snacks that we usually gravitate towards are crackers!  

However, it seems that no matter how endless the cracker choices are in the market today, there are not as many vegan options as I would hope.

To make it easier for all of us, I have looked into the different cracker brands available. Read on, so you can find out which vegan cracker options are out there for you to enjoy!

What’s A Cracker?

A cracker is a baked good most often made with flour and it has the following shapes:

  • Round
  • Irregular
  • Triangular

It is believed that the first cracker was made by a man named James Pearson from Newburyport, Massachusetts back in 1792. He was looking into making a biscuit that would have a longer shelf life than the usual sailor’s biscuits.

He was able to create what he called “Pearson’s Pilot Bread” which later became known as “sea biscuit” as it became popular with seafarers. The Pearson’s Pilot Bread was a mix of water and flour which he would then baked.  

vegan-crackers

It is believed that the first cracker was made by a man named James Pearson from Newburyport, Massachusetts back in 1792. He was looking into making a biscuit that would have a longer shelf life than the usual sailor’s biscuits.

Where did the name “cracker” come from?

It was back in 1801 when Josiah Bent was baking and accidentally burned the crackers. It made a crackling sound which is where the name came from.

Josiah Bent is also said to have improved the taste of crackers, creating soda crackers which preceded saltine crackers.

It was back in 1801 when Josiah Bent was baking and accidentally burned the crackers. It made a crackling sound which is where the name came from.

Are These Crackers Vegan?

As mentioned earlier, there are so many cracker brands in the market. Let’s take a look at some of the most popular ones and find out if they are something that we vegans can keep munching on. 

1. Animal Crackers

Just based on the name itself, it would probably scare vegans off.  However, don’t let that stop you from buying vegan animal cracker brands out there.

Yes, there are apparently animal cracker brands that are vegan and there are some that are not.  

We have actually covered everything you need to know about animal crackers and the vegan-friendly status of the different brands out in the market today HERE.

2. Ritz Crackers

This might come as a surprise but if you take a look at PETA’s list of accidental vegan food and snacks, Ritz Crackers is on the list.

If you check the ingredients of Ritz original crackers below, nothing non-vegan friendly jumps out:

  • Unbleached enriched flour: Wheat flour, Reduced Iron, Niacin, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Folic Acid
  • Vegetable Oil
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Leavening
  • Soy Lecithin
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Natural Flavor
crackers2

3. Goldfish crackers

One of the most iconic products of Pepperidge Farm has to be Goldfish Crackers.

Margaret Rudkin who was the founder of Pepperidge farm discovered the recipe of what would become Goldfish® crackers from a trip to Switzerland in 1961. By the next year, the US was able to get its hands on Goldfish® crackers.  

If you’re a vegan wondering if this pretty popular cracker is something you can still eat, I’m afraid to say that it’s not and you are better off finding another option.

 Based it on its ingredients, you can see that milk is one of them which is something that vegans can’t have at all.

4. Jacob Crackers

One of the most popular products to come out of Jacob’s in the United Kingdom and Ireland is its Cream Crackers. Despite the “cream” in its name, Jacob Cream Crackers don’t contain any dairy at all.  

The crackers are usually made of the following ingredients:  

  • Wheat Flour
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Palm Oil
  • Salt
  • Yeast
  • Sodium Bicarbonate

Based on the list, it seems that Jacob’s Cream Crackers are something that vegans can totally enjoy!

Do take note though that if you are concerned with something that contains Palm Oil and are against the issues plaguing its cultivation, you might want to skip this one.

If this is not an issue for you though, enjoy munching on Jacob’s Cream Crackers either on its own or topped with your favorite vegan cheese, salsa, dips, etc.

5. Saltine Crackers

Saltine or also known as soda crackers have been around for quite some time now. It’s a thin, square-shaped cracker that’s made from white flour, baking soda, and yeast. Some varieties are often sprinkled with salt. It usually has a crisp and dry texture and features perforations.

With its long history, it’s no wonder that there are so many saltine brands in the market. If a brand sticks to the usual saltine ingredients, then best believe that it’s vegan.  

As an example, let’s take a lot at Nabisco Premium Saltine Cracker which was once considered to be the leading saltine brand in the United States. Based on the ingredients which you can see below, nothing non-vegan friendly jumps out:

  • Unbleached Enriched Flour: Wheat Flour, Reduced Iron, Niacin, Thiamine Mononitrate {Vitamin B1},  Riboflavin (Vitamin B20), Folic Acid
  • Palm Oil
  • Canola Oil
  • Sea Salt
  • Salt
  • Yeast
  • Baking Soda
  • Malted Barley Flour

However I recommend you check the label in the packaging of whatever saltine crackers brand you decide to buy, as the ingredients vary.

6. Club Crackers

Club Crackers is a cracker brand made by the Keebler Company. This type of cracker is known for its flaky, buttery flavor with a hint of salt.  

However, it would probably shock some people when they find out that there is NO butter involved in the making of Club Crackers, making it something that vegans can enjoy!  

To verify this, check the ingredients of Club Crackers:

  • Enriched Wheat
  • Soybean Oil
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Leavening
  • Baking Soda
  • Corn Syrup
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Cornstarch

As a side note, if you are concerned about our health, I would stay away from anything that has high fructose corn syrup. So for me personally, club crackers are a no go!

crackers-3

7. Graham Crackers

Considered to be one of America’s oldest snacks, Graham Crackers has been around since the late 1820s. They were invented by a man named Sylvester Graham who was from Bound Brook, New Jersey.

The original recipe of Graham crackers consisted of the following:

  • Unbleached-wheat flour
  • Wheat Germ
  • Wheat Bran

Over the years, this once bland cracker has evolved. Today most Graham crackers are made with sugar and/or honey.

For vegans who are considering getting some Graham cracker, there are some variants being sold that do not contain dairy ingredients or honey.

You can check out either of these two vegan options:  Nabisco Original Grahams and Keebler Graham Crackers (Original and Cinnamon flavors).

What Are The Best Vegan Cracker Brands?

As vegans, our choice in crackers matters too. If we want to snack on these, we have got to find brands that are free from any animal by-products.

With all the cracker varieties being sold today, it’s best if we take note of the brands that we should be leaning towards.

To make life easier for everyone, I have listed down some of the best vegan cracker brands that you should be adding to your shopping cart ASAP!

1. Nabisco Triscuit Baked Whole Grain Wheat Original

Since the early 1900s, Triscuit has been enjoyed by Americans in many different events and gatherings.

If you’re a vegan looking for a cracker to add to your list, then its Baked Whole Grain Wheat Original variety is for you. With no non-vegan ingredients, it is made of 100% whole grain wheat, oil, and salt.  

Nabisco Triscuit crackers also come in different flavors – some vegan, some not. If you are keen to check some of them out, make sure you read the labels properly and thoroughly!

2. Wasa Crispbread Fiber

Sweden, Wasa Crispbread Fiber is a crisp and crunchy cracker brand that comes from Sweden.  

It’s an all natural product that comes in different variants. It comes in the following:

  • Multi-grain
  • Light Rye
  • Hearty Rye
  • Sourdough Rye
  • Oats

With the exception of its oats variants, all other flavors are dairy free and are vegan!

3. Late July Organic Crackers Classic Rich

Are you looking for a rich and buttery cracker that’s vegan? Well, the answer could be Late July Organic Crackers Classic Rich! This particular brand of crackers is:

  • Organic
  • All Natural
  • Trans-fat free
  • Cholesterol-free
  • Kosker
  • ..VEGAN!

4. Foods Alive Mexican Harvest Flax Crackers – Organic

Are you in search of something that combines the texture of crackers, the healthiness of flax seeds and the wonderful flavors of Mexico?

Well, you can get that and more from this Foods Alive cracker. The brand actually offers different types of crackers but this one in particular packs a lot of flavors and nutrients such as:

  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Magnesium
  • ZInc
  • Manganese
  • Vitamin B6
  • Copper

Mexican Harvest Flax Crackers – Organic also has high levels of: Fiber, Omega-3, Protein, Minerals, Vitamins

crackers4

5. Wheat Thins – Original

Are you looking something sweet, salty, munchy and crunchy at the same time? Well, you can try Wheat Thins  – Original flavor.

Made from high-quality ingredients, Wheat Thins contains no cholesterol, high fructose corn syrup or anything deemed to be non-vegan friendly. Compared to other crackers, Wheat Thins are not fried but are rather toasted.

These delicious crackers are perfect for pairing with fruits, vegan spreads and dips, and many other options.  

6. Mary’s Gone Crackers – Original Crackers

If there’s a super cracker, then that title might just go to Mary’s Gone Crackers – Original Crackers. This is mainly because some of its ingredients are known as “superfoods”.  

ust take a look at the list of ingredients: Organic whole grain brown rice, Organic brown flax seeds, Organic whole grain quinoa, Organic brown sesame seeds, Filtered water, Sea salt, and Organic wheat-free tamari.

Apart from being made with love, Mary’s Gone Crackers guarantee that its product is:

  • Gluten Free
  • Non-GMO
  • Whole Grain
  • Kosher
  • Wheat Free
  • Dairy Free
  • And lastly…VEGAN!

BONUS: To learn how you can make your very own vegan flax seed crackers, check out the video below!

Can you get vegan crackers from Trader Joe’s?

If you find yourself in a Trader Joe’s store, you most certainly can! There are several crackers on sale that are suitable for vegans! Look out for these:

  • Organic Animal Crackers
  • 12 Grain Prebiotic Mini Crackers
  • Crisp Wheat Crackers
  • Italian Style Rosemary Crackers
  • Multigrain Crackers
  • Stone Ground Wheat Crackers

If you wish to confirm these vegan selections, check out Trader Joe’s vegan product list here.

Can you get vegan crackers from Whole Foods?

With all their organic products, you can definitely find vegan crackers in your local Whole Foods. While you may be seeing a lot of cracker choices, make sure you read their labels correctly!

To make shopping easier for you, you can find the following vegan cracker brands in Whole Foods:

  • Breton Sprouted Grains and Original
  • Blue Diamond Nut Thins
  • CrunchMaster Multi-Seed
  • Oh My Yummies

You can definitely find vegan crackers in your local Whole Foods. While you may be seeing a lot of cracker choices, make sure you read their labels correctly!

Making Your Own Vegan Crackers At Home

If you have the time, patience and culinary skills, feel free to make your own vegan crackers! The great thing about making your own is that you can make sure that everything you put into your DIY crackers is vegan ingredients!

For starters, you might give this three-ingredient almond cracker a try! Yes, you can make a crunchy and buttery vegan and gluten-free cracker with only four ingredients!

Ingredients:

  1. ground flaxseed,
  2. almond flour,
  3. ground flaxseed,
  4. and sea salt.

Instructions:

  1. Start with preheating your oven at 350°.  
  2. Add 1 cup almond flour, 3 Tablespoons water, 1 Tablespoon ground flaxseed and 1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt into a bowl and stir until the mixture becomes dough.
  3. Once you have your dough, put it on a parchment paper, then cover with another. Try patting the parchment covered dough and then roll it out using a rolling pin. The ideal thickness of your dough is about ⅛ inch thick. The ideal shape is rectangular but it’s alright if you can’t always perfect them.
  4. When your dough has been rolled out, remove the parchment paper covering the top and sprinkle some flaked sea salt over it.  Depending on what you prefer, you may or may not skip pressing the flaked sea salt on the dough.
  5. To cut the dough into smaller squares – perhaps about ½ to 1 inch, you can use a knife or pizza wheel. You can also use a toothpick to make little holes in the crackers.
  6. Take your baking sheet out and top it with parchment paper. Add the cut square crackers on top of it and bake for around 20-25 minutes or until they turn crispy and golden brown.
  7. Once baked, take out of the oven and let it cool! When they have cooled down, enjoy it by themselves or with your favorite vegan toppings or dips!

Conclusion

Being a vegan does not mean giving up some of our fave foods to munch on and that includes our fave crackers!

With so many crackers being sold, finding vegan ones might be a challenge, but I hope the brands I have included here can help you out!  

To vegan cracker enthusiasts out there, are there other brands that you think we should look into? Let us know in the comments down below! And if you think this blog would help some vegans you know, please share this on your social media platform of choice!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.