All The Vegan Starbucks Options You Ever [Need To Know]!

starbucks-1

Coffee shops are super convenient whether it’s in the morning rush or just in one of those quick breaks mid afternoon. Catching up with friends? Meeting someone new? Cafés are the easiest meeting place!

As a vegan, you might find yourself nitpicking the food menus. Fortunately for us, many of the biggest coffee shops actually have vegan items!

Starbucks is no exception! In fact, They have plenty of vegan Starbucks options to offer. Some of which might knock your socks off!

How To Order Your Starbucks The Vegan Way!

Now this is IMPORTANT. By default, Starbucks use dairy (cow’s) milk on their beverages. Some of the powders and syrups they use are also NOT vegan.

The good thing is, Starbucks beverages are customizable, which is what they are popular for after all: “handcrafted beverages”. So, to make sure the barista will whip up your drinks without any animal products, learn what to avoid and what to ask for instead.

Keep in mind (or on your notes!) the following basic RULES:

  1. Substitute regular milk to non-dairy (see list below).  
  2. Drop the whipped cream.
  3. Choose a vegan syrup and/or topping.
all-the-vegan-starbucks-option

Practice these every time you order until it becomes a habit! It will also be best to tell the barista when you order that you need to have your drink be vegan.

If you feel your barista is unsure about vegan items, say non-dairy and ask about allergens in the ingredients instead. Common allergens include dairy, wheat, and soy. This is a good start so you don’t confuse your barista or overwhelm them with information.

By default, Starbucks use dairy (cow’s) milk on their beverages. Some of the powders and syrups they use are also NOT vegan. The good thing is, Starbucks beverages are customizable, which is what they are popular for after all: “handcrafted beverages”.

1. What To Avoid

These flavors and extras have dairy or other animal products in them:

  • Caramel Brûlée/Drizzle/Sauce
  • Chai Concentrates (there’s honey in it!)
  • Chile Mocha Syrup
  • Cinnamon Dolce Topping  (it contains butter!)
  • Fiber Powder
  • Frappuccino chips (you can get chocolate curls instead)
  • Greek Yogurt (found in smoothies and some breakfast items)
  • Java Chips
  • Light Frappuccinos
  • Maple Pecan Sauce (ask for maple syrup instead)
  • Protein Powder
  • Pumpkin Spice
  • Whipped Cream
  • White Chocolate Mocha
  • White Mocha

2. What To Ask For

Swap Starbucks’ regular dairy milk with any of these vegan, non-dairy milk options (for an additional charge):

  • Almond
  • Coconut
  • Oat (select stores only, mostly in Europe)
  • Soy

Your Vegan Options: Starbucks’ Vegan Menu

Some would call it “the vegan Starbucks secret menu”. I call it the heaven-sent menu! Why not? Starbucks is literally everywhere! Whenever I fancy some lattés and pastries, I know which coffee shop to look for!

From beverages to pastries, vegans can easily choose to have their breakfast at Starbucks when out and about. Probably lunch and dinner too!

Remember to always ask your barista for non-dairy milk!

Are you excited yet? There’s so much to cover! Get your notes ready!

Remember to always ask your barista for non-dairy milk!

Vegan Starbucks Drinks

Do you want to quench your thirst on a hot day or just warm up and wake yourself up with caffeine? Starbucks can cover both for you! If you’re looking for the best vegan starbucks drinks, here’s a complete list for you to choose from:

starbucks-mug-1

1. Vegan Hot Drinks At Starbucks

Let’s start with their main item, coffee! As with all other basic coffees, black coffee in Starbucks is vegan. Regular coffees are simply made with water and espresso, in varying amounts. To multiply it into dozens of other different tastes, milk and other flavors are added.

Quick Trivia: Do you know that Starbucks has over 87,000 different combinations for their beverages? WOW!

This is what makes coffee so interesting and enjoyable, you can have it in MANY ways!

Now, following the basic rule from above, tweak these coffee and non-coffee beverages with your favorite non-dairy milk! Don’t forget to drop the whipped cream!

Vegan Coffee At Starbucks (Hot) (Remember to order with non-dairy milk)

  • Brewed Coffee
  • Caffé Americano
  • Caffé Doppio
  • Caffé Latté
  • Caffé Misto
  • Caffé Mocha
  • Cappuccino
  • Clover Brewed Coffee
  • Decaf Pike Place Roast
  • Espresso
  • Espresso Macchiato
  • Latté Macchiato

Vegan Non-Coffee Starbucks Drinks (Hot) (Remember to order with non-dairy milk)

  • Classic Hot Chocolate
  • Hot Chocolate Vanilla Latté
  • Green Tea Latté
  • Hazelnut Latté
  • Hazelnut Mocha

2. Vegan Cold Drinks At Starbucks

Vegan Iced Coffee At Starbucks (Remember to order with non-dairy milk)

  • Doubleshot on Ice Beverage
  • Iced Americano
  • Iced Mocha
  • Iced Latté
  • Iced Latté Macchiato
  • Iced Vanilla Latté
  • Iced Caramel Macchiato (no caramel sauce/drizzle!)
  • Iced Vanilla Bean Coconut Milk Latté
  • Ombré Iced Coffees

Vegan Frappuccino Starbucks (Remember to order with non-dairy milk)

  • Caffé Vanilla Frappe
  • Caramel Macchiato (no caramel sauce/drizzle!)
  • Coffee Frappe
  • Cupcake Créme Frappe
  • Espresso Frappe
  • Java Chip (without the Java chips)
  • Matcha Green Tea Frappe
  • Mocha Frappe

Most frappuccinos can be made vegan, just replace the milk with non-dairy ones and hold the whipped cream! Also, check the list of syrups below to find out which ones to avoid and which ones you can have!

Vegan Non-Coffee Cold Drinks (Remember to order with non-dairy milk)

  • Fizzio Handcrafted Sodas
  • Iced Peach Tranquility Herbal Tea
  • Matcha Lemonade
  • Pink Drinks
  • Refreshers
  • Smoothies (with non-dairy milk and NO protein powder)
  • Tazo Soy Milk Lattés
  • Tazo Teas
  • Toasted Coconut Cold Brew
  • Violet Drinks

Vegan Starbucks Bottled Drinks

  • Evolution Fresh cold-pressed juices
  • Tazo iced teas
  • Starbucks Bottled Cold Brew Black or Iced Coffee (sweetened and unsweetened)

3. BONUS! The Starbucks Seasonal Drinks

These next ones, I’m sure, will excite you even more.  The vegan Starbucks holiday drinks!  Most of these are in what fans call the “secret menu”. I think all Starbucks fans always look forward to these seasonal beverages every fall and Christmas season. I surely do!

Some of the holiday drinks cannot be customized to be vegan when the flavor itself contains dairy. The pumpkin spice is one example.

Don’t be sulking though, there are plenty of other flavors for vegans! Most of them just need tweaking. So just remember the rule: non-dairy milk only and no whipped cream! Here’s your complete guide:

starbucks-mug-2

Starbucks’ Vegan Christmas Drinks

Beverage
Remove!
Add or Replace With
Apple Spice (Caramel)
• Caramel drizzle/sauce • Whipped cream
• Oprah chai syrup
Candy Cane Frappuccino
• Milk (in the vanilla bean frappe) • Whipped cream
• Non-dairy milk
Caramel Brulée Lattè
• Caramel brulée sauce • Milk • Whipped cream
• Non-dairy milk (the caramel brulée sprinkles are vegan)
Caramel Toffee Mocha (a great substitute for the non vegan Toasted White Chocolate Mocha)
• Milk • Whipped cream
• Non-dairy milk
Chestnut Praline Lattè
• Milk • Whipped cream
• Non-dairy milk
Christmas Cookie Frappuccino
• Caramel drizzle/sauce • Milk • Whipped cream
• Non-dairy milk
Ferrero Rocher Hot Chocolate (no real Ferreros, just Starbucks’ own hazelnut flavors)
• Chocolate Chip • Java Chip • Milk • Whipped cream
• Non-dairy milk
Gingerbread Lattè
• Milk • Whipped cream
• Non-dairy milk
Holiday Cookies and Cream Coffee Frappuccino
• Java chip • Milk • Oreo cookies • Whipped cream
• Non-dairy milk • Top with spiced praline crumble
Joy Tea Lattè
• Milk • Whipped cream
• Non-dairy milk
Peppermint Mocha Lattè
• Milk • Whipped cream
• Non-dairy milk

Starbucks’ Vegan Fall Drinks

Beverage
Remove
Add or Replace With
Caramel Cocoa Cluster Frappuccino Blended Coffee
• Caramel drizzle • Caramel sauce • Milk • Whipped cream
• Non-dairy milk
Caramel Frappuccino Blended Coffee
• Caramel drizzle • Caramel sauce • Milk • Whipped cream
• Mocha syrup • Non-dairy milk
Chai Crème Frappuccino Blended Crème
• Chai tea concentrate • Milk
• Non-dairy milk • Oprah chai syrup
Cinnamon Dolce Latté (comes in an iced version too)
• Cinnamon Dolce Topping • Milk • Whipped cream
• Non-dairy milk
Horchata Almond Milk Crème Frappuccino
• Caramel sauce • Cinnamon Dolce Topping • Whipped cream
• Cinnamon Dolce syrup
Maple Pecan Crème Frappuccino
• Milk • Maple Pecan sauce • Whipped cream
• Maple Syrup • Non-dairy milk
Salted Caramel Mocha (comes in an iced version too)
• Caramel sauce • Milk • Whipped cream
• Non-dairy milk
Salted Caramel Mocha Crème Frappuccino
• Caramel sauce • Milk • Whipped cream
• Non-dairy milk
Witch’s Brew Crème Frappuccino
• Milk • Whipped cream
• Non-dairy milk

Healthy Vegan Starbucks Drinks

There’s no doubt that aside from coffee, it’s all the sugar that makes Starbucks drinks yummy. This of course means that they’re NOT HEALTHY especially if you have them every day, which surely happens a lot.

If you can have just the basic coffee and tea, then that’s fine. But let’s admit it, most of us go to Starbucks for their sweet drinks, hot or cold!

Vegans are already having it healthier by dropping the whipped cream. To make it even better, you can ask for their sugar-free syrups, or ask for agave as a sugar substitute. Yes, some stores have them!

Vegan Starbucks Syrups And Sauces

Starbucks uses flavored syrups in a lot of their beverages. Most of these syrups are fortunately vegan. Also, keep in mind that SYRUPS and SAUCES are NOT the same items at Starbucks.

This might confuse you because some flavors have both. For example, there’s caramel sauce and caramel syrup. One is vegan (syrup) but the other is not. Now remember these vegan syrups and sauces for your next order:

  • Almond syrup
  • Caramel/Sugar Free Caramel syrup
  • Cinnamon Dolce Syrup
  • Coffee Frappuccino syrup
  • Crème Frappuccino syrup
  • Fudge syrup
  • Hazelnut/Sugar Free Hazelnut syrup
  • Macadamia syrup
  • Mocha sauce/syrup
  • Peach syrup
  • Simple syrup
  • Toffee Nut Syrup
  • Vanilla/Sugar Free Vanilla syrup

Vegan Starbucks Powder Flavors

  • Chocolate Powder
  • Cinnamon Powder
  • Matcha Powder
  • Vanilla Bean Powder

Starbucks uses flavored syrups in a lot of their beverages. Most of these syrups are fortunately vegan. Also, keep in mind that SYRUPS and SAUCES are NOT the same items at Starbucks.

starbucks-display

Starbucks’ Vegan Food

You think we’re done already? Don’t hide your notes yet! Now that we’re done with the drinks, let’s start with the food!

Over the past few years, Starbucks has continuously built up the vegan items in their menu. This is a conscious effort to cater to the growing number of vegan consumers everywhere.

Starbucks’ Senior Manager Alex Whittle even said that they “will continue developing a variety of vegan and vegetarian options for everyone to enjoy.” Hooray! This means we can expect MORE vegan Starbucks in the future! I honestly cannot wait!

Going back to now, there are already plenty of vegan items at Starbucks. This long list is a proof!

Starbucks’ Senior Manager Alex Whittle even said that they “will continue developing a variety of vegan and vegetarian options for everyone to enjoy.”

1. Vegan Pastries At Starbucks

  • Bunnie Cakes Passion Fruit Cupcakes
  • Emmy’s Organics Dark Cacao Macaroons (in select stores only)
  • Macadamia Oat Cookie (the only vegan Starbucks cookie for now)
  • Vegan Chocolate and Raspberry Cake (in select stores only)

2. Starbucks’ Vegan Breakfast Food Items

4. Vegan Snacks At Starbucks

5. Starbucks’ Vegan Wrap

  • BBQ Jackfruit Wrap
  • BBQ Vegan Wrap with Jackfruit & Slaw (select stores only)

BONUS: To learn the different vegan drinks you can order at Starbucks, check out the video below!

Starbucks’ Vegan Options In The UK (and some parts of Europe)

Most of the beverages and food items in the list above are also available in UK Starbucks stores, with the same vegan rules. However, there are also ones that are only available in UK and its neighboring European countries. Here they are:

  • Bbq Vegan Wrap With Jackfruit & Slaw
  • Fruit Pot (Melon And Lime / Pear, Apple, Blackberry)
  • Mango With Lime Fruit Pot
  • Multi-seed Toast
  • Oat Milk
  • Vegan Chocolate And Raspberry Cake
  • Vegan Dark Chocolate And Hazelnut Bar
  • Vegan Wrap With Falafel And Slaw
  • Wrap Vegan Cauliflower

While all Starbucks stores around the world carry the brand’s signature beverages and other food items, menus still vary. Some stores may offer more vegan options, such as the ones in Middle East.

More countries are joining the vegan change though. In South Korea, Starbucks has added Grilled Onion Focaccia and Banana Pecan Pound Cake in their menu.

Most of the beverages and food items in the list above are also available in UK Starbucks stores, with the same vegan rules. However, there are also ones that are only available in UK and its neighboring European countries.

FAQ Summary

By now I’m sure I have given answers to so many questions you have about Starbucks’ vegan options. To make it more comprehensive, here is a summary of the top questions and their answers:

Is there a Starbucks vegan hot chocolate?

Yes! Starbucks uses their mocha sauce/syrup on their hot chocolate beverages. Just make sure to ask for any non-dairy milk when you order.

Is Starbucks’ mocha vegan?

All mocha flavors in Starbucks are vegan except for white mocha and Chile mocha.

Is the peppermint mocha at Starbucks vegan?

Yes! Both peppermint and mocha syrups are vegan!

Is Starbucks Chile mocha vegan?  

No, its natural flavors contain milk.

Is Starbucks Chai Latté vegan?

No, it has honey in it. You can switch it with the Oprah Chai, which is 100% vegan!

Is Green Tea Latté in Starbucks vegan?

Yes, as long as you replace milk with their non-dairy alternatives like soy, coconut, and almond. All tea-based lattés can be made vegan!

Is there a vegan Pumpkin Spiced Latté in Starbucks?

No. The pumpkin spice sauce unfortunately contains milk. This also means that this popular holiday flavor cannot be veganized.

Is Starbucks Soy Frappuccino vegan?

You bet! All frappes made with soy instead of their usual dairy milk is totally vegan. Just make sure you don’t have whipped cream and non-vegan sauces or drizzles in it!

starbucks-coffee-1

Are Starbucks Refreshers vegan?

Yes, they all are! If you want them creamy, just ask to replace the water with coconut milk. This is what they use on the popular pink drink and violet drink.

Is Starbucks coconut milk vegan?

Yes! Starbucks uses Sumatran coconut milk, which is certified vegan!

Are Starbucks bagels vegan?

Yes, mostly. Their plain bagel, raisin bagel, multigrain or sprouted grain bagel are vegan but the rest are not.

Is Starbucks’ oatmeal vegan?

Yes, it is! Don’t forget to use non-dairy milk only! Top it with fruits or nuts, or both!

Is Starbucks caramel syrup vegan?

Yes. Just the syrup though. Take note that the caramel sauce and caramel drizzle are NOT vegan since they contain dairy.

Is Starbucks mocha syrup vegan?

Yes! If you fancy some chocolate flavor, you can ask for this instead.

Is Starbucks vanilla bean powder vegan?

Yes! It’s also best made with their coconut milk. Try it!

Starbucks’ And The Growing Veganism

If I remember it right, it was back in 2015 when Starbucks first made a move to consciously add more vegan items to their menu. This was in response to the growing number of requests from their vegan consumers.

Since then, some of their usual blends have been modified, which now makes it easier to veganize their beverages. Also, having at least three options for non-dairy milk already says a lot!

As more stores join the move, vegan promotions also start to unfold. In some Starbucks stores in Amsterdam, vegan products are promoted through the usual chalkboard sign for more customers to see.

The best part is, it is the brand’s leaders that are taking the initiative!

I also love that Starbucks is quite transparent with their ingredients online. It’s a great reference! However, I also hope they add a  complete nutritional information for vegetarians and vegans just like the one in Starbucks Ireland’s website.

Above all, as Starbucks is a giant brand, I am hoping that more brands will follow their move. After all, vegans are multiplying in all parts of the world, and having a vegan-friendly menu just makes sense.

Conclusion

Veganizing Starbucks’ beverages is easy, as you should know by now. Ask for your choice of non-dairy milk at whichever store you’re at: almond, coconut, oat, or soy milk. Remember to always say no to whipped cream, and choose your vegan syrup and topping! Make it a habit.

How do you veganize your favorite Starbucks drink? Do you know of any other vegan drinks or food items not mentioned on this blog post? Let me know on the comment section below. And don’t forget to share this article in your favorite social media platform.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.