Are Walkers Crisps Vegan? Don’t Let Yourself Be (Confused)!

walkers-crisps-1

I get it, you want to start a party or simply curb hunger between meals with the UK’s favorite chips, the one and only Walker Crisps. But before you dig in, I’ll answer your question of “are Walkers Crisps vegan?”

Crisps are deliciously tasty without a doubt and they provide a salty crunch that many of us crave. But, unfortunately Walker Crisps are NOT vegan.

While some flavors don’t contain any animal products, they have been produced in a factory that handles milk. So unless you don’t mind cross-contamination, then you shouldn’t be eating them if you are a vegan.

Keep reading as I will go in deeper into my research on Walker Crisps and Veganism. And at the end this blog post, I have a recipe for you so that you can make your own delicious (and healthier than Walker Crisps) chips.

Crisps are deliciously tasty without a doubt and they provide a salty crunch that many of us crave. But, unfortunately Walker Crisps are NOT vegan.

Why Aren’t Walker Crisps Vegan?

There is a vast array of Walkers Crisps, you want to try them all, and you are wondering if they are vegan-friendly, my answer is NO! But, why not?

Ok so this is what I found:

On the FAQ page of the company’s website, one of the questions is “Are the meat-flavoured crisps suitable for vegetarians?”. The answer says “All core Walkers Crisps flavours are suitable for vegetarians

If in doubt, always check the back of pack for guidance on suitability for vegetarians.” There is no mention on the FAQ page, or anywhere on the website, about Walker Crisps being vegan, only vegetarian.

So the only thing that I can confirm is that there is no meat of any kind in Walker Crisps.

If you want the details, I took the time to gather the information on the following flavors, so enjoy:

  1. Ready Salted: Not Vegan
    • Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients
    • Cross- contamination: Milk
  2. Cheese and Onion: Definitely Not Vegan
    • Ingredients: Milk
  3. Salt and Vinegar: Not Vegan
    • Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients
    • Cross- contamination: Milk
  4. Prawn Cocktail: Not Vegan
    • Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients
    • Cross- contamination: Milk
  5. Beef And Onion: Definitely Not Vegan
    • Ingredients: Milk
  6. Marmite: Not Vegan
    • Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients
    • Cross- contamination: Milk
  7. Roast Chicken: Not Vegan
    • Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients
    • Cross- contamination: Milk
  8. Smoky Bacon: Definitely Not Vegan
    • Ingredients: Milk
  9. Worcester Sauce: Not Vegan
    • Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients
    • Cross- contamination: Milk
  10. Pickled Onion: Not Vegan
    • Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients
    • Cross- contamination: Milk
  11. Tomato Ketchup: Definitely Not Vegan
    • Ingredients: Milk
  12. Salk & Shake – Original: Not Vegan
    • Ingredients: No obvious non-vegan ingredients
    • Cross- contamination: Milk

Tell Me More About The Walkers Crisps Company

Walkers is one of the biggest food brands and the fourth most significant business inside the largest and the dominant group, PepsiCo.

According to veganwiki.co.uk, Harry Walker founded Walkers in 1948 in Leicester, England, and it was acquired by Lay’s owner, Frito-Lay, a division of PepsiCo, in 1989. 

Walkers is famous for “manufacturing crisps as well as other non-potato based snack foods. The Walkers site in Leicester is one of the most massive crisp production plants in the world, producing over 11 million bags of crisps every day and using approximately 800 tons of potatoes”.

According to veganwiki.co.uk, Harry Walker founded Walkers in 1948 in Leicester, England, and it was acquired by Lay's owner, Frito-Lay, a division of PepsiCo, in 1989.

Bonus: To learn how to make vegan potato chips at home check out the video below.

Main Ingredients Of Walkers Crisps

The main ingredients you will find in Walker Crisps are 100% British potatoes, sunflower oil and rapeseed oil.

Then, depending on what Walker Crisps flavor you try, the ingredients will vary.

However I think you would be happy to know that none of the Walker Crisps contain MSG, artificial colors, or preservatives.

What To Watch Out For

Unfortunately, as stated before, all of Walker Crisps flavor are most likely not vegan. However manufacturers are at liberty to change their ingredients at any time.

So, don’t lose hope that one day Walker Crisps will start to make some of their current flavors vegan-friendly, or that maybe new flavors will hit the market that are specifically catered to vegans.

I advise you that from time to time you should pick up a bag a Walker Crisps from the rack at the grocery store and scan the product’s label and packaging for the following phrase: “Suitable for Vegans”. Or look for the “Certified Vegan” logo.

You should also check for the allergy information of a product. If the product has milk ingredients, eggs, or shellfish it will say, “Contains milk, eggs, shellfish”. Many of the Walkers Crisps flavors definitely contain milk.

And for the record, Walker Crisps are NOT gluten-free.

Finally, there are plenty of by-products derived from animals that can lead to some confusion, such as, whey powder, casein, and modified milk ingredients. They are all dairy products.

Check out veganuary.com for more information on vegan label reading guide.

From time to time you should pick up a bag a Walker Crisps from the rack at the grocery store and scan the product’s label and packaging for the following phrase: “Suitable for Vegans”. Or look for the “Certified Vegan” logo.

walkers-crisps-3

Current Vegan Flavors According To The Web

According to Veganwiki.co.uk, the  Walkers Crisps flavors in the list you will find below are vegan. However, I could not verify the accuracy of this information. So, I will leave it up to you to make the decision of whether you eat them or not. 

I already told you my findings above. If you still want to take the risk, here they are:

  • Salt & Vinegar
  • Ready Salted
  • Prawn Cocktail
  • Worcester Sauce
  • Crinkles Simply Sea Salted
  • Chipsticks Salt ‘n’ Vinegar Flavor
  • Sensations Lime & Coriander Chutney Poppadoms
  • Sensations Balsamic Vinegar & Caramelised Onion
  • Sunbites Sweet Chilli
  • Sunbites Original
  • Sausage and Brown Sauce

How Bad Are Walkers Crisps For You?

According to DailyMail.com, snacking on a packet of crisps a day is like drinking 5 LITRES of cooking oil per year. Consumed in excess, these ingredients are well-proven by research to increase our risk of obesity, hypertension, type 2 diabetes and coronary disease.

Based on a study published in the authoritative New England Journal of Medicine by cardiologist and food researcher Dr Dariush Mozaffarian, crisps are now the single largest contributor to the obesity epidemic in the U.S.

So even if Walker Crisps are vegan, you probably shouldn’t be eating them.

According to DailyMail.com, snacking on a packet of crisps a day is like drinking 5 LITRES of cooking oil per year.

Alternatives For Vegan Walkers Crisps:

Here are some tasty alternatives for Walkers Crisps that I’m sure you can in your local grocery store or online:

  • Organic hummus chips
  • Hippeas Chilli Haze
  • Organic Lentil Chips
  • Quinoa Chips
  • Purely Plantain Chips
  • Luke’s Chia Seed Multigrain Chips
  • BEEPS Sweet Chilli Puffs

Or better yet, click here to read my article called “The Top 20 Vegan Chips Brands You Need To Know About (Today)!

Do You Want To Make Your Own Vegan Chips?

Going vegan does not mean completely abandoning the foods you enjoyed before making the transition. Try this heavenly homemade recipe from onegreenplanet.org:

OIL-FREE CHILI LIME SPIKED CORN CHIPS

These oil-free chili lime spiked corn chips are tasty, crispy, and crunchy. Lime and chili powder go well together. Enjoy them with creamy dips like hummus or with low-salt salsa. 

If you are eating a plant-based diet and do not want to give up on crunchy snacks, then these corn chips are perfect for you.

Ingredients:

  • lime juice – 2 tablespoons
  • water – 1 tablespoon
  • chili powder -1/2 teaspoon
  • smoked paprika – 1/2 teaspoon
  • garlic powder – 1/2 teaspoon
  • salt – 1/2 teaspoon
  • 6 sprouted or 100% organic corn tortillas

Preparation:

  • Preheat oven to 350°F.
  • In a small bowl, mix together the lime juice, water, chili powder, smoked paprika, garlic powder, and salt.
  • On a cutting board, place 1 corn tortilla. Using a basting brush, brush both sides with the chili lime mixture. Stack another corn tortilla on top and brush both sides with the chili lime mixture. Keep stacking and brushing on the chili lime mix till all 6 tortillas are in a stack.
  • Using a big knife, cut the stack into six wedges/chips.
  • Place the wedges/chips on two parchment covered baking sheets
  • Bake for 10 minutes. Flip the wedges over and bake an additional 8-10 minutes, or until they are golden and crispy.
  • Cool and then store in an airtight container.

Summary

Although Walkers Crisps are undoubtedly delicious and have won many people’s heart, but they are not suitable for vegans (unless you don’t mind some cross contamination).

Also, remember that crisps (and all chips in general) are made to be addictive. With that said, the more crisps you eat, the bigger your waistline will be.

Remember that crisps (and all chips in general) are made to be addictive.

After what you just read, do you think that you will still eat Walker Crisps? Do you have a favorite homemade crisps recipe? Let me know on the comment section below. And don’t forget to share this article in your favorite social media platform!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.